What Are The Different Types of Demons and Their Hierarchy

Remember watching Charmed Movie in the early 2000s, and you could cringe at the sight of demonic possessions? Scary, right?

In the wake of civilization, the modern man finds it irrational to understand the existence of demons. 

Nevertheless, religious institutions have often called upon their masses to understand the reality of the demonic. In fact, it is evident from the gospel accounts that Jesus had numerous encounters with demons.

Demons are believed to have been cast out of heaven for defying God. 

If you love bureaucracy, you’d be impressed to learn that despite the chaotic nature of the underworld, there is a hierarchy and specific role for each demon.

Various scholars and different religions categorize demons in different orders, but their attributes remain the same.

We have compiled this comprehensive guide to help you understand the different types of demons and their hierarchy. Read on!

14 Demons and Their Hierarchy

The rulers of hell are considered to be the highest-ranked. Demons are believed to have god-like powers.

The following are the different types of demons in order of their hierarchy positions.

Lucifer: Emperor of Hell and Demon of Pride

Most Christians know Lucifer as the devil, who was once a beautiful angel but defied God and fell from grace. He corresponds to the sin of pride.

Although commonly confused as Satan, Lucifer is a completely different devil. In fact, he outranks Satan as the emperor of hell.

His name translates to “light-bringer” therefore you will not come across him in the New Testament as Christ is believed to be the “Bearer of Light” in that text.

Satan: Prince of Hell and Demon of Witchcraft

Satan is identified as the prince of hell, who embodies witchcraft and the deadly sin of wrath. It is believed that the demon allows witches to ride on his shoulders if they call him on the sabbath day.

Biblically, Satan was used to test Job by inciting him to disobey God. Satan is also known as the gatekeeper of fertility, he is often called upon for witchcraft in people’s fertility needs.

Leviathan: Prince of Hell and Demon of Heresy and Envy

This demon represents the sin of envy. According to Christians, the Leviathan is a sea monster that roams in the waters.

Leviathan is associated with those who speak ill against the rules and faith of the church.

Beelzebub: Chief of Staff and Demon of False Gods

This demon rules over the order of the fly and appears as a large winged insect when summoned.

Beelzebub is commonly associated with the sin of gluttony and also preys on human pride in an attempt to gain a following.

He is closely linked with blood and sacrifice, which is why a sacrifice has to be done to allow people to be freed of his possession.

Witches claim loyalty to Beelzebub, as he is known to demand solidarity from fellow Satanists in keeping Lucifer’s affairs in order.

Asmodeus: King of Demons and Demon of Lust & Wickedness

This demon’s name means one who destroys. He is called the king of demons, even if he stands beneath the others in the hierarchy.

Commonly known for blocking married couples from consummating their union, thus causing strife between husband and wife. He is the demon of lust who breaks marriages using enticements to forbidden pleasures.

Asmodeus is also the demon of wickedness, running gambling activities in hell and tempting people into wantonness.

Adramelech: Grand Chancellor of Hell

He is also referred to as the president of the senate of demons. He has roots in the Assyrian religion, where he was a sun god who demanded human sacrifice.

Adramelech has a duty in choosing Satan’s clothes for him.

Baal-Berith: Chief Secretary of Hell and Demon of Blasphemy

Baal-Berith is in the first hierarchy of demons and has many titles including the chief secretary, minister of foreign affairs, and keeper of the infernal archives.

Well known as a demonic voice that whispers to vulnerable people, leading them into taking the lives of others. He makes people become quarrelsome and commit murder.

He has the power to turn metal into gold. Anyone who wants to make a pact with Satan must go through him first. He can foresee the future, see the past and the present.

Astaroth: First Prince of Thrones and Treasurer of Hell

This demon is believed to be the prince of thrones, who tempts humans into laziness. He works as a guide to new demons and as the treasurer in hell.

Witches consider him a female demon for providing lust, love, and protection. From the Christian perspective, Astaroth is believed to have the power to make humans invisible in their pursuit of treasures.

Verrine: Second Prince of Thrones and Demon of Impatience


Verrine is found in the first hierarchy of demons and is commonly known for pushing humans into living an impatient life.

He is described as a demon capable of healing; an attribute that is more aligned to creation rather than destruction.

It is believed that Verrine served under Astaroth.

Gressil: Third Prince of Thrones and Demon of Impurity


He is a subordinate to Verrine. He pushes humans to commit the sin of sloth. Gressil holds power in spreading impurity and uncleanliness.

Olivier: Prince of Archangels and Demon of Cruelty

This demon is in the third hierarchy and opposed to the catholic martyr St. Lawrence.

Olivier encourages malice and cruel treatment of the disadvantaged people in society.

Luvart: Prince of Angels and Demonic Possessor of Sister Madeline

As per the Michaelis study, Luvart possessed Sister Madeline during the 17th Century demonic attacks on Nuns in the South of FranceLuvart has power over possessions.

Verrier: Prince of Principalities and Demon of Disobedience

As the prince of principalities, he is known to tempt humans into disobedience. He encourages disobedient behavior to any ruling authority.

Verrier is believed to have healing powers for his emphasis on using herbal remedies. The demon is capable of reigning destruction on people.

Behemoth: Night Watchman of Hell and Satan’s Cook


He is mostly attributed as the demon of overindulgence for his characteristics in excess food consumption and the role of cooking for Satan.

Behemoth is referred to as the grand cupbearer of the royal household. When he interacts with humans, he creates chaos in their lives.


The most common factor in every study about Demons is that they all exist in a hierarchy. Each demon is associated with a specific sin and function.

Leave a Comment